Giveaway: Children of Blood and Bone

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir. Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls. But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope. Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, … Continue reading Giveaway: Children of Blood and Bone

Rate this:

Shimmer and Burn ★★★★☆

Blog Features & Headers (4).png

Don’t you just love when you pick a book for the cover and the writing is just as beautiful?

To save her sister’s life, Faris must smuggle magic into a plague-ridden neighboring kingdom in this exciting and dangerous start to a brand-new fantasy duology.

Faris grew up fighting to survive in the slums of Brindaigel while caring for her sister, Cadence. But when Cadence is caught trying to flee the kingdom and is sold into slavery, Faris reluctantly agrees to a lucrative scheme to buy her back, inadvertently binding herself to the power-hungry Princess Bryn, who wants to steal her father’s throne.

Now Faris must smuggle stolen magic into neighboring Avinea to incite its prince to alliance—magic that addicts in the war-torn country can sense in her blood and can steal with a touch. She and Bryn turn to a handsome traveling magician, North, who offers protection from Avinea’s many dangers, but he cannot save Faris from Bryn’s cruelty as she leverages Cadence’s freedom to force Faris to do anything—or kill anyone—she asks. Yet Faris is as fierce as Bryn, and even as she finds herself falling for North, she develops schemes of her own.

With the fate of kingdoms at stake, Faris, Bryn, and North maneuver through a dangerous game of magical and political machinations, where lives can be destroyed—or saved—with only a touch.

Continue reading “Shimmer and Burn ★★★★☆”

Everless ★★★☆☆½

everlessTime is a prison. One girl holds the key. This is a thrilling, high-stakes new fantasy duology, perfect for fans of Red QueenThree Dark Crowns, and Six of Crows.

In the kingdom of Sempera, time is extracted from the blood, converted into coins, and used as currency or consumed to add to one’s lifespan. The rich aristocracy amass eons in their vaults, while the poor are forced to cut their futures short in order to survive in the present. And few families are richer than the Gerlings, who lord over the peasants from Everless, their palatial estate.

A fateful accident once spurred Jules and her father to flee Everless in the dark of night. But ten years later, in order to save her dying father, Jules must secretly return. Everless holds more temptations—and dangers—than Jules thought possible. Soon, she’s caught in a tangle of violent secrets, and finds her heart torn between two people she thought she’d never see again. Her decisions have the power to change her fate—and the fate of time itself.

This dazzling debut novel, starring a fierce heroine and rife with high-stakes adventure, engrossing mysteries, star-crossed romance, and captivating magic all set in a richly built world, will leave you counting down the seconds until the next installment.

I’m mixed about this one. I definitely loved the prose and the very literal take on “time is money.” I really loved the greater world that Holland created here with the Sorceress and the Alchemist, and general fantastical elements that wove their way around this story.

But I hated the pacing and particular character flaw so much I put it down. Continue reading “Everless ★★★☆☆½”

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

missperegrine_334x518Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children came out in July of 2011. So I’ve literally waited 4 years to get this book. Let me tell you why: every time I went to the book store I really only had money for one book, a sad, sad, position to be in I assure you. I would invariably pick up Miss Peregrine’s and some other book I wanted and then flip a coin and then sigh as I put Miss Peregrine’s back on the shelf.

Then recently I went hunting for the book again. I went to my local Barnes and Nobles, only to find they didn’t have it in stock. I stopped at the Quirk Books booth at BookCon, only to find they only had one there for display only.

Finally, I decided to just get the kindle edition. Which brings me to another point: I specifically did not want to get the kindle edition of this book. Continue reading “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟”

Write with Round Robin Writes!

I know that I shamelessly plug my work on this site all the time but now you can too! RRW is opening its doors to new writers! Do you like to write picture books, middle grade, or young adult? Do you love to read and get free books? Enjoy blogging? Social Media? Working with others? Then we’d love for you to join us! We’re looking for new teams of writers, made up of four people, to create wonderful stories, writing prompts, and book reviews. If you don’t have your own team–that’s cool–we’ll hook you up! We accept full teams as well … Continue reading Write with Round Robin Writes!

Rate this:

The Year in Recap

It’s been a pretty big year for me. I’m in a loving, committed relationship, I graduated college, my dog died, we have two furry additions to the family, I was accepted to grad school…

I graduated with my BA this summer and I am seriously just amazed at myself. Growing up, I wasn’t what anyone would call an Honor Student. Yet, here I am, in a national honor society, with Magna Cum Laude on my degree. Man, if all those teachers could see me now. And you know what the weirdest part is? It wasn’t hard, it was just hard work. I just woke up one day and cared.

It hasn’t all been fun this year, though. Back in February we had to put my Belgian Shepherd, Precious, down. She was 14 years old, a month away from being 15, and couldn’t walk anymore. She suffered a stroke on a Saturday and we took her to the vet that Monday. It was so hard to put her into a box and wrap her up with a blanket that last time. Continue reading “The Year in Recap”