My Plain Jane ★★★★☆

myplainjane.jpgMove over, Charlotte Brontë. The authors of My Lady Jane are back with a fantastic, romantic, hilarious reimagining of Jane Eyre.

Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows’s My Lady Jane was a New York Times bestseller, “an utter delight” (ALA Booklist, starred review), and “an uproarious historical fantasy that’s not to be missed” (Publishers Weekly, starred review). Now they’re back with another irreverent tale of mischief, mayhem, and romance—perfect for fans of The Princess Bride or A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.

You may think you know the story. After a miserable childhood, penniless orphan Jane Eyre begins a new life as a governess at Thornfield Hall. There, she meets one dark, brooding Mr. Rochester. Despite their significant age gap (!) and his uneven temper (!!), they fall in love—and, Reader, she marries him. (!!!)

Or does she?

Prepare for an adventure of Gothic proportions as one orphan Jane Eyre, aspiring author Charlotte Brontë, and supernatural investigator Alexander Blackwood embark on the most epic ghost hunt this side of Wuthering Heights.

I’m not a huge fan of the classics, but Jane Eyre has always held a special place in my heart. It’s got “ghosts,” it’s got mystery, it’s got a crazy lady in the attic burnin’ the whole place down, and a super creepy romance between a teenager and a man in his forties. But hey-love.

I enjoyed most of My Plain Jane, in ways that I certainly did not enjoy My Lady Jane. This was funnier, well written, and did a wonderful job tying in the source material while commenting on the original story in a modern way (mostly that Rochester is old enough to be Jane’s grandfather-gross)

Perhaps where it lost points for me was its attempts to draw in other elements of pop-culture like Lord of the RingsThe Princess Bride, and others. I would rather the authors relied on their own humor which was vastly more successful than the lines they stole from others.

Amazon . Barnes&Noble . BooksAMillion

Pub Date: June 26th, 2018

Untitled design (1).png . Untitled design.png . PlayerFM

POST CONTAINS AFFILIATE LINKS
SUPPORT THE BOOKED ALL NIGHT PODCAST BY PURCHASING YOUR NEXT BOOK OR MOVIE THROUGH OUR AFFILIATE LINKS.

Jessica’ March TBR

Jessica's Bigger Better Blog Header (2).png

For Review

34728667Title: Children of Blood and Bone
Author(s): Tomi Adeyemi
Pub Date: March 6, 2018
Publisher: Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
Buy Links: Amazon . B&N

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.